# African National Congress Youth League

## **Provisional National Youth Committee**

(1) Chairman: Peter Mokaba

Person power development Public relations officer

- \* Jerry Ndou
  - \* Moreti Motau
  - \* Sobukwe Mlobile

(2) Deputy Chairperson: Lyndol Mafole

(3) Secretary General: Rapu Molekane

(4) Deputy Secretary General: Edward Mabitsela

(5) Secretary for Administration: Uriel Abrahamse

(6) Secretary for Finance and Projects: Bachana Mokwena

Deputy: Ignatuis Jacobs

(7) Secretary for Students Affairs: Seke Morath

Derrick Masoek Bizanni Ngese

(8) Secretary for Political Education: Vusimuzi Mavimbela

Febe Potgieter

(9) Secretary for Women's Affairs: Dipuo Peter

(10) Secretary for Organisation: Kgaogelo Lekgoro

Nyami Booi
Victor Motjope
Sampson Makwetla

(11) Secretary for Publicity: Parks Mankahlana

Radithupa Mabitsela Information: Yacoob Omar Media: Mpho Lekgoro

(12) Secretary for Arts: Leila McKenna

Culture: Johnny Sexwale Sport: Mogamotsi Mogodire

(13) Secretary for Labour: Billy Masehla

Norman Mashabane

Puso Tladi

(14) Secretary for Regigion: Dan Sekonye

(15) Secretary for Pioneers: Sharon Davids

(16) Regional Chairpersons: a. Northern Transvaal: Thabo Masebe

b. Southern Transvaal: Brian Hlongwe c. Eastern Transvaal: Steven Mbuyisa d. Eastern Cape: Chris Mbekela

e. Border: Shoes Mkebe

f. Western Cape: Whitey Jacobs

g. Transkei Manelise Zibi



51 RUCTURE

ANC Youth League Report to the Chairperson of the ANC ILC, Comrade <u>Walter Sisulu</u> and the Deputy President-General of the ANC comrade <u>Nelson Mandela</u> and through them to the ANC Organising Committee Comrade Steve <u>Tshwete</u> and the <u>ANC NEC</u>.

### PROVISIONAL NATIONAL YOUTH COMMITTE OF THE ANC YOUTH LEAGUE

After months of consultations and discussions amongst various youth organisations who have an interest in building the ANC Youth League; the Provisional National Youth Committee of the ANC Youth League was constituted on the 3 October 1990 in Johannesburg. It was agreed in this meeting that the PNYC should structure itself and begin to take up the tasks relating to the formation of the ANC Youth League.

This process included the following organisations: SAYCO, ANC Youth Section, COSAS, SANSCO, NUSAS, Young Christian Students (YCS), Catholic Students Association CASA and Student Christian Union SUCA.

At the first meeting of the PNYC on 4 October 1990 the task to structure itself and to allocate duties as set out on the 3 October was carried out and the following persons were give these tasks by a process of election:

1. Chairperson

1.1 Security

1.2 Personpower and development

2. Deputy-chairperson

3. Secretary General

3.1 Ass - Secretary

4. Secretary for Administration

5. Secretaries for Student Affairs :

6. Secretaries Finance and Projects:

7. Secretaries for Political Education

8. Secretary for Women

9. Secretaries for Organisation

Peter Mokaba ANC Youth Section

/ : Jer Ndou

AND Youth Section

: •Rapu Molekane : ANC Youth Section

: ANC Youth Section

Derrick Masoek

ANC Youth Section

Bizanni

ANC Youth Section Ignatius Jacobs

ANC Youth Section Febe Potgieter

: Dipou Peters

Kgaogelo Lekgoro

Nyami Booi

: ANC Youth Section(x2)

10. Secretaries for Publicity

Information

Media

Parks Mankahlana

ANC Youth Section

Mpho Lekgoro

11. Secretary for Pioneer

12. Secretaries for Arts

Culture Sports

Sharon Davids

Leila Mchenna

ANC Youth Section Mogomotsi Mogodire

13. Secretary for Labour Norman Mashabane

14.

Secretary for Religion 14 Regional Chairpersons of

### ANC Youth Section

The meeting agreed that due to the fact that not all the ANC Youth Section task force members are here, that they will sort out who will fill the positions set out above as they come in. What follows is a list of the Task Force members that will fill the positions set our for the Youth Section: the positions set our for the

- 1. Billy Masetlha
- 2. Vusimus Mavimbela
- 3. Firoz Cachalia
- Lyndoll Mafole-Shope 4.
- 5. Tseke Morathi
- 6. Welile Nhlapo
- Moreti Motau 7.
- Victor Motjope
- 9. Eurile Williams
- 10. Phatakye Makwetla
- 11. Radithupa Mabitsela
- 12. Johny Sexwalw
- 13. Sobukwe
- 14. Bachana Mokwena

### B. Regional Chairpersons

The Youth league will follow the regional demarcation of the ANC. Meetings are set up to elect the Regional Youth Committees by the weekend of the 13\14 of October in most if not all 14 regions. Regional chairpersons will become part of the Provisional National Youth Committee.

### C. Launching Rally

The PNYC decided that the National Rally to launch the process will be held on 27 October 1990, which is the birthday of comrade President-General Oliver Tambo, at FNB Stadium. Organising work in this regard have started.

### D. Meeting with the ILC

The PNYC has decided to meet in the shortest possible time with the Internal Leadership Core Chairperson and the ANC National Working Committee.

### E. Membership

The signing up process for membership to the Youth League will be launched at a press conference on Tuesday 9 October 1990 and will be conducted by Comrade Sisulu in his capacity as chairperson of the ILC.

# F. Comrade President-General OR Tambo

It is hoped that a satelite link-up will be made so that the President General addresses the rally.

We hope that the leadership will bless these efforts which we have undertaken at their request and in the interest of the whole movement.

Yours in struggle

PNYC of the ANC Youth League